- Law & Justice
- Sheriff's Office
- Civil Division
- FIREARMS/LICENSE TO CARRY UNIT
FIREARMS UNIT - LICENSE TO CARRY PERMIT/LICENSE TO SELL
The Sheriff's Office has implemented a new online process to apply for LTC permits.
Applications can be submitted at the following link:
We have resumed accepting in person applications (WE NO LONGER ACCEPT PAPER APPLICATIONS) via automated kiosks in the Office but wait times may be longer than usual. Permit applications will not be accepted after 4:00 PM via kiosks. $20.00 payment must be in the form of cash or money order or you have the option to pay by credit card. You will not receive your permit the same day and you will need to make a second visit to our Office in order to receive your permit. It is strongly suggested that you use the above link when applying for your permit. Using the on-line service from your computer or smart phone will require only one visit to the Office.
License to Carry Permit Details:
An applicant for a license to carry permit must be at least 21 years of age and reside in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. Proof of age and residency must be furnished when the application is submitted. We do not issue permits to out of county or out of state residents.
If you are a Lancaster County resident, you must provide a Pennsylvania driver’s license or Pennsylvania photo ID. A post office box will not be accepted as a legal residence. Address on your permit application must match the address on your driver's license or photo ID at the time you apply for your permit as well as when you appear to have your picture taken.
Following an investigation by the Office and Pennsylvania Instant Check System (PICS) conducted by the Pennsylvania State Police, the applicant will be notified whether the application has been approved or denied. If your application has been denied, a service fee of $5 will be withheld, and the applicant will receive a refund of $15. You may be provided with a Challenge Form which must be submitted to the PA State Police. The State Police will then respond and explain as to why your permit request has been denied.
License to Sell
Applications for License To Sell Firearms for gun dealers. This application can be printed and filled out but must be brought to the Office for processing.
Notice: The furnishing of false information on a signed application or offering false evidence of identity is a violation of Title 18, Section 4904. The Sheriff has the authority and reserves the right to revoke a permit for character and reputation.
Concealed Carry License Reciprocity-PA Office of Attorney General